chairman and not more than six other members appointed by the Governor in Council for a term not exceeding ten years. The Pilotage Authorities report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport,

Post Office Department. Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1970, c.P-14) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of the money order service.

The Department's headquarters is located in Ottawa, with regional headquarters in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. District offices are located in St. John's, Halifax, Saint John, Quebec City, Montreal, Ottawa, North Bay, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton and Vancouver.

Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA). The PFRA was established in 1935 (RSC 1952, c. 214) to assist in the rehabilitation of agricultural lands seriously affected by drought and soil drifting in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. Since then it has turned 2.5 million acres of marginal and submarginal land into community pastures and has been instrumental in the construction of many large irrigation and water-control projects. At the farm level, the PFRA has assisted 100,000 dugout projects for irrigation, stock-watering and domestic water supplies. It has also distributed up to 10 million seedlings a year for farm shelterbelts. As an entity within the Department of Regional Economic Expansion, the PFRA has the additional responsibility of implementing departmental programs in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

Preparatory Commission for Metric Conversion (Metric Commission). This Commission was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1146, June 1971. It consists of a full-time chairman and up to 20 part-time commissioners all of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of three years. An executive director acts for the Commission in directing the full-time staff.

The Commission advises the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce on plans for conversion to the metric system and on the need for legislation. It also initiates, co-ordinates and undertakes investigations, surveys and studies relating to the implications of conversion to the metric system in different sectors of the Canadian economy. It prepares, in consultation and co-operation with any department or agency of the Government of Canada and of any province, the Standards Council of Canada, or other interested parties, an over-all program for conversion to the metric system which will ensure, as far as possible, that any programs are phased and co-ordinated in order to maximize the benefits of conversion while minimizing the costs. The Commission also furnishes, publishes and disseminates information concerning conversion to the metric system.

Privy Council Office. For administrative purposes, the Privy Council Office is regarded as a department of government under the Prime Minister. The Clerk of the Privy Council, under whose direction its functions are carried out, is considered as a Deputy Head and takes precedence among the chief officers of the Public Service. The authority of the Privy Council Office is to be found in Sections 11 and 130 of the British North America Act, 1867, which constituted a Council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. In 1940, with the wartime development of Cabinet committees and the consequent need for orderly secretarial procedures such as agenda, explanatory memoranda and minutes, the Principal Secretary in the Prime Minister's Office was designated Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet. Since 1946, the Privy Council Office has been further reorganized, developed and enlarged and certain administrative functions of the Privy Council Office and the Prime Minister's Office have been closely integrated in the interests of efficiency and economy.

The organization of the Privy Council Office at present consists primarily of the Cabinet Secretariat with the following divisions reporting to the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet; Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations); Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Plans); and Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Federal-Provincial Relations). Within the Privy Council Office, submissions to the Governor in Council are received, draft orders and regulations prepared, approved Orders are circulated and, in addition, the duties of editing, registering and publishing the federal statutory regulations in Part II of the Canada Gazette are carried out. The various secretaries deal with secretarial work for the Cabinet and for Cabinet committees and interdepartmental committees. This involves the preparation and circulation of agenda and necessary documents to Ministers and recording and circulating decisions; liaison with departments and agencies of the government; and the preparation of material for the Prime Minister.

The Office of the Prime Minister is organized as a Secretariat associated with the Privy Council Office and includes members of the Prime Minister's personal staff responsible for arranging the release of the Prime Minister's statements on matters of public interest, his public appearances and appointments to interview him. They also handle general secretarial business, draft letters and assist the Prime Minister in his Parliamentary duties.

Public Archives. The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (RSC 1970, c.P-27) by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of source material relating to the history of Canada. It also has broad